Jarryd James

‘Let It Go’ is the second single from Jarryd James forthcoming new album. The new track is co-written and produced by M-Phases (Ruel, Eminem, Amy Shark), and is the fruits of a songwriting workshop Jarryd attended deep in the Nicaraguan jungle.

The intoxicating beats and heavily effected vocals of ‘Let It Go’ were inspired by the blurring of time and feelings of disorientation experienced while in the jungle. “Four in the morning, daylight crawl in,” Jarryd sings, as the track warps around him like a vinyl record left out in the sun. “How did we get like that?”

Taking himself outside of his comfort zone the ten-day songwriting camp was spent with fellow writers Broods, Joel Little, and M-Phazes to name only but a few. The group lived in basic conditions, slept in bungalows, and worked long hours in the humid heat.

“It was so deep in the jungle to the point where if you soloed any track that came from a microphone, there’s going to be monkeys in the background,” he recalls, laughing.

A cruise ship’s worth of Pina Coladas was consumed.

“’Let It Go’ is about the weekend; about Friday nights and Saturday mornings,” he explains. “That was the environment we were in on that trip [to Nicaragua]. It was very late nights because there was an open bar. It was getting up and making music all day and getting back in the Pina Coladas. It was a good vibe.”

‘Let It Go’ comes off the heels of Jarryd’s first single, ‘Slow Motion’, which has now surpassed 2 million streams globally and was championed by triple j and added to playlist’s on Apple Music’s A List Pop and Spotify’s Front Left, Indie Arrivals, Singled Out and New Music Friday in over 20 countries including Australia, New Zealand and the US.

Since the release of ‘Slow Motion’ earlier this year, Jarryd has been on tour with long-time friend Matt Corby performing across Europe and the US as well as his appearance with Matt at this year’s Splendour In The Grass. With his second album in the works, the Brisbane artist has been in the studio with Clams Casino [A$AP Rocky, Vince Staples, Lana Del Rey], Cautious Clay [KYLE, Logic], and Andrew Wyatt [Miike Snow] as well as Little and Malay.